Migration of old Settings#
Foremost the version-attribute is used.
If your provisioning-xmls do not contain a version, then the phone uses stored xsd's of former releases to individually compare each settings-section against. If none matches version 0.0.0 is assumed.
Once the version is determined, the migration-steps (renaming and such) get applied one by one until the current settings-version is reached. At that point each settings-section gets stripped of any trash that the current xsd doesn't know about and then gets merged with the phones current settings.